This morning I am grateful and appreciative of so many things.

I am grateful for:

The smell and sound of coffee brewing in my kitchen. The anticipation of sipping the first sip of coffee may be one of the only things that lures me out of bed in the morning.

Morning walks with Adder- she always has an extra spring in her step. I love watching her come into her own as she settles into this new life. Her eyes are extra bright and shiny as she curiously explores our neighborhood.

COLD! Breathing in the cold winter air, I sent a wish into the universe for snow (because if I’m not mistaken, the air smells slightly of snow!).

The nutty smell of oatmeal cooking on the stove.

Finding a parking space RIGHT AWAY.

Spending time with friends who make me laugh so hard that tears stream down my face.

Coming to terms with the fact that I will never fold my clothes or put them away. They will forever live in a pile on my favorite green chair, waiting to be pushed onto the floor when I feel like curling up into a ball to read.  I’m definitely okay with this. (sorry, Mom).

My new Kindle. What a fantastic device. It has incited in me a thirst for reading that has been lying dormant for a long while.

A sense of wonder and delight. I can’t put my finger on where it comes from or why, but I love when it does. Whenever I feel this way, I get the sense that amazing things are just ahead.

