Today I am grateful for:

The world didn’t end! Hooray! This may sound silly, but I’ve always had an irrational fear about the world ending. When I was in 4th grade, the 6th graders had convinced the whole school that the world would end during lunch time at the end of the week. I remember being anxious about it, and thinking to myself, “what if the world DOES end? I’m only 9, man! There’s so much world I haven’t seen!” Then when it didn’t, I was overcome with relief. It was sort of the same deal with the potential for the world ending this time around. Thanks, Mayans.

What I’d like to focus on is all the things I wanted for myself if these were the end of days. All of mine were centered around love. I wanted to tell everyone how much I loved them and hug them until all the breath was forced out of their lungs. I focused on all the things I was lucky to have in my life.

I’d like to carry on those feelings as we come into the New Year. Complete and total appreciation wrapped up in lots of love.

I love all of you, friends.

