It’s taken me a few days to sort out my thoughts on what happened at the Boston Marathon.

Lots of things that I’ve learned, I learned from being a Northeastern-er. I was born and raised in NH and have family not far from Boston. I learned to be loyal and stand by your family (and your teams!). I learned about and mastered biting sarcasm and wit. I learned to tell you exactly what I think without sugar coating it. Though this can be a tough pill to swallow, you always know where you stand with me. I’ve got a tough exterior, but am warm and fuzzy on the inside. This is all thanks to the spirit of the Northeast.

I spent countless nights at shows, dancing and singing my heart out. So many miles were walked on the streets, long and loud belly laughs shared on the T. Boston is a great city that holds even greater memories. To have something like this happen in a city so close to my home shook me to the core. I had to be extra careful not to immerse myself in it too much. I would’ve spent hours thinking about everyone I’ve ever known and what the likelihood was that they had been downtown on Monday.

As a therapist, I spend my days helping people sort through their own horrifying events. And at the end of the day, I can’t spend my evenings immersing myself in too much information and graphic images designed to instill fear and hopelessness. I refuse to fall into that trap. I need time and space to process how I feel, to wait out the waves of nausea and sadness. To interact with events like this individually, rolling them around in my brain over and over again. It takes a while to know how I feel, the things I want to take away, the messages I don’t want to incorporate.

What I continue to be impressed with all the time is this: people are incredibly resilient.

What happened on Monday is tragically awful and something I cannot comprehend. What it has proven to me though, is that people come together when it matters. That we stand strong together when times get tough.

I want to be a person who can focus on the good in people. To know that people, as a whole, are inherently good and look out for one another. This was proven true to me as I heard about people rushing into the blasts to help those that had been injured, of runners continuing to run to the hospital after finishing the marathon to donate blood, of people opening up their homes to strangers, of running communities all over coming together to support and send love.

That’s what my running community did. Last night, 3000 runners gathered to run together down one of the busiest streets in the city. These runners ran with heart, with determination, and strong messages that no matter what, you cannot fuck with us. We are a close knit community, one of the most supportive I’ve ever known. Complete strangers cheering each other on, waving signs, high-fiving, claps on the back, encouraging words, secret smiles. They carried messages of hope, love and light last night. To say I was moved is an understatement. I felt so proud to be part of Philly and the running community last night.

Today I am grateful for:
people with incredible spirits.
resiliency.
lots and lots of love.

