I’ve been learning lately how to slooooooow down. It’s really hard to do, but something that I feel is important. It has done wonders for my ability to be present.

Being involved in lots of different things has always been important to me. It keeps me busy and satiates my appetite to keep all parts of myself engaged. Because I have so many interests, I’m constantly getting involved in projects, volunteering and signing up for committees. I love to be surrounded by people with passion and drive, to share my ideas with different groups of people, to feel connected to so many communities.

The flip side of this is that I don’t take time for myself very often. Because I’m always on the go, I have a hard time being in the moment, slowing down and enjoying what’s happening right now. Instead, I’ll run lists in my head of things I need to do and people I need to call. It is a part of myself that I have struggled with, because the people I love deserve me fully in the moment. I don’t like feeling even a little bit “checked out.”

Over the past month, I’ve had the opportunity to get to know someone who helps me slow down. I’m learning to match someone else’s rhythm and it’s been a really fun process. Instead of wondering what’s next or what the plan is or, “where will we go, who will we see, what will we know?” I am enjoying just being in the moment and enjoying someone’s company. I’m loving the experience of getting to know someone at a pace that doesn’t feel like go, go, go!

Unexpectedly, the slowing down has helped quiet my mind in times that it would normally be extra chatty. I’ve been more caught up on my paperwork than I have been in months. With less mind chatter, I’ve been feeling more on my game with my clients, thinking about the cases in a whole new way that doesn’t feel so caught up in the chaos and anxiety that can come along with my job. Success!

Today I am grateful for:
constantly learning and growing.
practicing mindfulness and patience.
presence.
great, big smiles.

