My dear friends,

Do you ever wish that you could turn your brain off just for a while? I’ve been having that feeling over the past couple of days. Sometimes, I get overwhelmed by how enormous things feel, how sometimes life feels like too much. And that if I could just have the option to turn my brain off, things could feel manageable when I’m in the enormous place.

I’ve been wondering what happens to memories when other people aren’t around anymore (for whatever reason). Do memories lose their shape and vibrance when only remembered by one? Do they become skewed by only one perspective?

I’d like to leave you with some quotes that I’ve been reading this morning:

“The experiences of your life are trying to tell you something about yourself. Don’t cop out on that. Don’t run away and hide under your covers. Lean into it. What is this lesson in the wind? What is this storm trying to tell you? What will you learn if you face it with courage?” -Pema Chodron

“Be soft. Do not let the world make you hard. Do not let pain make you hate. Do not let the bitterness steal your sweetness. Take pride that even though the rest of the world may disagree, you still believe it to be a beautiful place.” -Kurt Vonnegut

Today I am grateful for:
Movies and books that knock me on my ass, recently “The Fault in Our Stars” and “Warm Bodies.”
Quotes that move me when I don’t have words.
The way that wind blows through open fingers.
Sunshine after a rainy day.

