I just learned that someone I went to middle and high school with passed away last week. We weren’t particularly close, so it doesn’t feel like a hard loss. Any life lost too soon is sad though. I’d like to take several moments over the next few days remembering him, remembering life the way it was ten years ago, reaching out to friends and connecting.

Death for me always brings about reflections on life. Running a checklist on the things that I’ve accomplished and the things still left to do. Thinking hard about my relationships. Feeling love for the people I’ve lost and appreciative of the people still here. It brings up a panick-y feeling that I need to tell everyone how much they mean to me. There are no guarantees in this life. The people who are important to us need to know how much we love them.

This one’s for you, Ron.

